Decisions

This is the first summer where I am an independent “adult” in certain ways, especially compared to last summer.

I have been gathering my life back together following finals, and I have moved to Petoskey, Michigan, for eight weeks for the opportunity to go to Summer Leadership Project with Campus Outreach, a religious organization on campus.

According to Campus Outreach Columbus, “The Summer Leadership Project (SLP) is an eight week summer training opportunity designed to help college students grow in character, leadership and professional skills, and their walks with God.”

And that’s exactly why I am going.

Adulting

Sunset on Lake Michigan during the Summer Leadership Project.

However, this isn’t about my faith but the journey of being a decisive and rational adult, even if I am still learning to be one.

It wasn’t entirely an easy decision; I was hesitant and questioning a lot.

Following a decision this large, moving away for the summer after spending nine months away my family already was not easy.

So, how does one be independent in decision-making?

As Gen Z students, it’s already complex enough to exist in a world that says we’re this and that. Personally, I find this generation as a mix of baby boomers, Generation X and millennials. Of individuals I know and interact with, I find each one has a mix of traits that is not characteristic of Gen Z.

This generation has the capability to make decisions and be independent, even if society tells us otherwise at times. But how?

Here are some tips I have learned over the past year of the pre-adult stage:

1. Your decisions are your own.